Lecture Capture +. (Project Post)

Prior to the beginning of the ALT module I was organised, energised and ready for what the module had in store. Sadly in the early weeks of the module my Father passed away and so it took my organisation, energy and readiness and mashed it up quite substantially. I now ready myself for the remainder of the project with a view to making it a success. My project area of ‘Lecture Capture’ is one that I have explored for a number of years. After the hurdles of getting the technology to work in a productive way I then found that from a pedagogic standpoint that the long lecture captures were of little use and few if any students used them as part of their educational journey. So I now ask the question, How much pedagogic value does straight lecture capture give the educator and the learner?. Owston, Lupshenyuk & Wideman (2011) discuss the issue of whether an institution is wise to invest in technology, training and support of its staff to provide this facility. They conclude that low achievers are more likely to interact and benefit from this facility whilst high achievers tend to fast forward and view certain sections only once and therefore is likely to benefit low achievers more.ย  Also in Stasko and Caron (2010), cited in Purcel and Hong-Ning (2011), the average time spent by a student watching a recorded lecture is 4 minutes. I sense there is more we can do to enhance the online offer to students to make educators material more engaging. I recently took part in a webinar as part of a JISC funded project REC:all, The Pedagogy Framework (www.rec:all.info). Young (2012) uses Bloom’s Taxonomy to describe how as educators we can progress up the Taxonomy triangle to words such as apply, analyse, evaluate and create rather than just playing around at the bottom of the triangle by remembering and understanding which is what simple lecture capture is actually doing. Young (2012) also says ‘The project is looking towards how we can exploit lecture capture to see if we can think more deeply about pedagogical issues and practices we can adopt using these systems’ this is further communicated by the use of the word ‘augmenting’ which means make something greater by adding to it.

Owston, R., Lupshenyuk, D., & Widemann, H. (2011) Lecture Capture in Large Undergraduate Classes: What is the Impact on the Teaching and Learning Environment? Institute for Research on Learning Technologies, York University, Toronto, Canada.

Moes, S., Young, C. (2012) The Pedagogy Framework. http://www.rec-all.info/events/rec-all-webinar-the-pedagogy-framework

Pursel, B. & Hong-Ning, F. (2011) Lecture Capture: Current Research and Future Directions, The Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence. [See also for an on-line version: http://www.psu.edu/dept/site/pursel_lecture_capture_2012v1.pdf ย ย  last accessed 25 October 2012]

About despard

Educator in Design.
This entry was posted in #altsep12, A1 Design and plan learning activities, A2 Teach and/or support learning, A4 Develop effective learning environments/support students, A5 Engage in continuing professional development, K1 The subject material, K2 Appropriate methods for teaching in subject area, K3 How students learn in subject area, K4 The use of learning technologies, V1 Respect learners and communities, V2 Promote participation, V4 Acknowledge wider context for practice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lecture Capture +. (Project Post)

  1. pgcapsalford says:

    Hi Craig,
    I know that you will do really well in this project, and I ‘m sure that you will make a success of it at this difficult time. I think at this time you should focus your work on clearly defining the area of lecture capture that specifically interests you – and will be most useful to you in your work. I like the idea at the bottom of your post where you talk about using video capture as part of the solution for engaging students in higher order learning activities. I guess this goes back to what I was saying when we met up about the chunking of material, and embedding it in meaningful (active rather than passive) learning. In don’t know if you have seen some of the resources and research work that the Opencast Community have been doing on a range of lecture capture related projects.

    http://opencast.org/resource-exchange/publication-research

    Click to access ALTC2007Williams_attendance.pdf

    Best wishes

    Pete

  2. Hi Craig. Thanks for this post. I enjoyed reading it. It’s good that you are getting back into the ALT module, and thanks for sharing with us at this tough time. I know you’ve been interested in lecture capture for ages, and I regard you as a bit of a local pioneer in this now. I hope to be able to learn something from you that I can adopt in my own practice. I don’t ‘lecture’ (one: I’m not allowed, two: I hope never to need to ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) but I do believe if we do need to ‘deliver’ some stuff i.e. procedures around how to use a particular piece of software or something like that, then we should be able to put it online and put it to good use so that students can revisit and re-use our materials at home. We also have to consider if any of our stuff can be made open access which will ultimately increase the profile and impact of both us and our institutions. Are you thinking about OER? Have you looked at Coursera yet? I’m going to take some open education courses via Coursera in January – all for free! I’m starting to wonder if some of us pgcappers should start our own bank of OER resources… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Craig,
    I’m sorry for your loss. Allow yourself some “slowing down” before you feel you can “speed up” again. Giving ourselves time is important.

    I just came across this short paper/report http://tinyurl.com/8gq4xz5 and thought it might interest you. I am also sharing it with Jialiang who is looking at a similar intervention. Maybe you two can share some ideas/practices? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well spotted Becci – I think Craig’s projects would lend itself well to be an OER. I see potential there.

    If you need more literature for the project please let us know . Looking forward to seeing how the project develops ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a comment